President For Life

Ineke Vandoorn & Marc van Vugt

President For Life

CD number:

Date: 1996

Price:EUR 15.00

Article number: bmp002

No Shipping costs

Payment by Paypal


This CD can be bought as a downloadable mp3 CD at


The Press says

"Vandoorn is worth the detour. Their lead singer Ineke van Doorn and guitarist Marc van Vugt demonstrate solid musicianship. Their performance is all the more interesting in that they offer strictly original material instead of the usual revisited standard. The styles blend well together to create a unique melting pot defying categorisation."

...Yesterday night between seven and eight, the street belonged to the Dutch quartet Vandoorn. The many surprises impressed everyone. Because of the "scats", at least to be called modern, of singer Ineke van Doorn and the solos full of detours of guitarist Marc van Vugt, the audience seemed to be perplexed, but remained open......till the very end.
La Presse, Canada

"It's modern jazz, that's certain. But a more precise description of the music of the quartet 'Vandoorn' is hard to make. Poetic lyrics, floating harmonies, even non-particular jazz listeners do like it, but nobody is able to label it. Did the band create a new jazz style?"

"The music which has almost entirely been composed by Marc van Vugt is based on contemporary music, in which van Doorn's voice is integrated with the wonderful instrumental contributions which give a kaleidoscopic view on the diverse ways jazz and pop music can be mixed". Jazz Nu

‘When Ineke van Doorn sings, it’s not just some little song to the accompaniment of a haphazard jazz combo. Her lyrics and her voice are an essential part of the total music. Her singing, without words or with song texts, sometimes not more than humming, is simply one of the instruments of the band...she herself is actually the band”. LINE-UP

Ineke van Doorn - voice, Marc van Vugt - guitar, Wiro Mahieu - double bass, acoustic bas guitar, Hans Verdoorn - drums, persussion

Guest musicians; Thomas Chapin - alto saxophone, flute, Jeroen van Vliet - piano

Track listing

1. Like Coming Home 6:29
2. That's Me 7:14
3. Can You Hear the Whistle Blow? 5:53
4. Mr. Bley 5:26
5. But Kenny play? 3:54
6. It's A Lovesong 4:11
7. How She Was Then 5:54
8. President For Life 6:20
9. Mr. Cogito 6:27
10. Secret Dance 3:01


lyrics 'President for Life'

to the top

Get the Flash Player to see this player.